A Trip to #GoReadWrite2016

GoReadWrite2016

Photo by National Book Store

In the Philippines, August is the celebration of ‘Buwan ng Wika’ (Language Month) and a lot of Filipinos are anticipative of this month because of different activities going on especially inside schools, colleges, and universities. However, I go down a different road (But that doesn’t mean I dislike the Buwan ng Wika. I am a proud Filipino and also shall support our month), because I am more excited and thrilled to attend The Philippine Readers & Writers Festival 2016.

The Philippine Readers & Writers Festival 2016 gathers all writers, readers, authors, photographers, historians, and all sorts of artists in a 3-day event from Aug. 26 – 28, 2016 at Raffles Makati to attend different talks, workshops, and book signing events by different authors loved by many Filipinos with FREE ADMISSION.

I went to the festival on the second day because I had classes on Aug 26 (Fri
day), so I decided to attend Day 2, since I didn’t want to miss the opportunity. Plus, it was free! So I went there with a friend of mine and registered our names at the lobby. Once registered, you’ll be 1) schedule of events; 2) three FREE passes for the Manila International Book Fair; and 3) an ID Pass that is valid for 3 days.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Schedule of events, three free passes, and an ID pass

Much to my friend’s eagerness in travelling and food writing, the first event we attended was Fork in the Road: Food and Travel Writing (with Micky Fenix and Claude Tayag). I had a great time being able to have authors in front of me talk about their experiences in travelling and food writing. Because I was mesmerized too much, I forgot to take down notes for future references. It was actually my first time to be able to meet and hear author talk about their experiences so I’ll have to check that out off my mini bucket list.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Fork in the Road: Food and Travel Writing talk

After the event, we had a short break before we attend the next one which was IBIGKas: A Poetry Reading Session at 5 PM – 6:30 PM. We were actually late at this part of the event so we weren’t able to see how the event started, but thankfully we were able to see the video of Lang Leav who read a few pieces from her book, The Universe of Us.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Lang Leav reads some of her pieces from The Universe of Us

Before leaving the festival I visited Namayan Room and saw that there was a talk and book signing of Lahat Tayo May Period at Iba pang Punctuation Marks (We All Have our Period and Different Punctuation Marks) written by Rod Marmol. I was at a nearby socket charging my phone when I heard a lot of people screaming, so I checked out which room it was coming from and that’s when I saw the talk and book signing event. I have no background information about the book, but the book title got me curious. Maybe I’ll grab a copy for myself.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Lahat Tayo May Period at Iba pang Punctuation Marks book signing

It’s quite a shame that I wasn’t able to attend the other events that were in Day 1 and Day 3. There were just so many events to choose from so you had to choose wisely which ones you’re going to attend. If only dividing yourself was possible I would’ve done it to attend a seminar about this at the same time attend a talk about that.

I hope to have a 2017 festival next year and hope that I’ll be able to attend as many events as possible. Right now, I’m set to the Manila Internal Book Fair on Sept. 14 – 18, 2016 at the SMX Convention Center Manila, Mall of Asia Complex, Philippines.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

#OOTD photo taken by Aaron Clariz

Leave a Reply

