Unwanted Reading Recommendations: Borrowing, Returning, and Remembering Books

This is just so interesting!

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

What do you do when somebody loans you a book that you donโ€™t want to read? Has this ever happened to you? It has happened to me a few times, and each time is awkward.

It usually goes like this: the person hands me a book and gushes over it. They mention that there are thirty more books in the series that they want me to borrow as soon as I am done with the first one.

In one particular instance, I took the highly recommended book home. I kept that book for a few weeks, allowing it to stab guilt and anxiety into my heart each time I saw it laying on the bookshelf, untouched. I knew from the dust jacket that I didnโ€™t want to read it. Should I give it back the next time I see the person and pretend to have read it? Should I bringโ€ฆ

View original post 989 more words

Leave a Reply

